Decade

I love this picture
Mrs Stitch Senior

Tomorrow is the tenth anniversary of my Mother’s death from cancer. She was 69. Rather than be sad I wanted to remember some of the things she did – to recapture her spirit iyswim. She wasn’t perfect but it’s the flaws that make a person interesting.

  • She knew all the words to The Mexican Hat Song and patiently spent ages teaching them to me. Elder thinks I’m a genius.
  • She taught me to sew. When 12 and mumps-ridden she left me with a pattern, fabric and machine. I wore that dress to death.
  • She made the best tiramisu ever. Ever.
  • She used to comment on people forgetting they could hear her – ‘look at that woman, she gobbles like a turkey’ said on a plane with said woman two seats away on same row.
  • She could demonstrate yoga moves after a 3 course dinner
  • She spoke French and German, all self taught, after moving around while we were children due to my father’s job. She embraced the differences between nationalities (most of the time)
  • She had a way with family resemblances – ‘you’ve got fingers just like mine. My mum always said I had chips for fingers’
  • She could make a toadstool from an egg and a tomato.
  • And mice from pears.
  • She bothered to do it.

Not just once but all the time. She was a proper mother. I miss her so much I ache but by God I’m glad I had her. Lucky old me.

eek!
Cool, eh?
13 Comments Add yours

  1. tee2072 says:

    What a great post! I love the mice.

    1. quarkee says:

      They taste gd too!

  2. mmelindor says:

    What a lovely post, and a great photo. She looks like she was great fun.

    I love the way you express your joy and luck for having a wonderful mother, even though she was taken too soon. It is something I often think but rarely say when someone passes away, reminiscent of the Antoine de Sainte Exupéry quote:

    “And when your sorrow is comforted (time soothes all sorrows) you will be content that you have known me… You will always be my friend.”

    1. quarkee says:

      Design moi un mouteau… Can’t remember how to spell it but I love AdSE. Thankyou.

  3. quarkee says:

    Must be tinned pears!!!

  4. dillytante says:

    Aww, you look like your mother. She was beautiful.

    1. quarkee says:

      Well, my fingers resemble hers apparently! Thanks Dilly 🙂

  5. FirstTmeMum says:

    Beautiful photo, beautiful post…it’s lovely that you have such great memories o cherish. As someone about to become a mum, you’ve given me a lot of inspiration about what that role means.

    1. quarkee says:

      Thank you! She was lovely. Good luck with your new role!!

Leave a Reply

