Get stuck in

20130113-210648.jpg

Readers, I think I’ve been wupped with the Kirsty stick…I’m entering a bake-off. It’s tomorrow and above is my effort. A very sticky butterscotch windfall fruit upside down cake. I hope it’s ok. I can’t tell until they cut into it tomorrow. Gulp!

The recipe is very simple, cannibalised from my old faithful the Be-Ro book. Victoria sponge basic mix, enhanced with lebkuchen spices and coriander (thank you Gourmet Gardens). Then you make the butterscotch (2.5 oz butter melted with 2oz soft brown sugar), arrange the fruit slices (plums, bananas and apples today), pour over the sauce and then place to cake mix on top. I added blackberries to the mix to make it purple (!)

Leave a Reply

