Seize up

so, I watched an amazing program this evening on iPlayer. It was about a very cool woman called rowena and how she was deciding whether or not to have a bucket list having found out she had terminal cancer. Was it really came down to was how important it is to experience life rather than collect experience. 

  so, that would mean enjoying the taste and smell of the coffee rather than collecting the different brands.
This whole concept is one that I have been exploring myself over the last couple of years. 

And, not surprisingly, it seems I’m not alone.

How am I getting on? Well, I have changed the way I look at things and I have changed what I am emphasising in my life. My blue hair (Did I mention I have blue hair now!), New York, the art MA course which starts in September are the most tangible evidence of this but, I also try to take stock and look at what is happening around me A little bit more then maybe I did in the past. Don’t get me wrong, I keep getting it wrong but at least I’m trying.

Today is a great example. I was with my boys and decided to take them down for fish and chips rather than boring old tea here. We had arrived in Brixham after a three hour train journey and quite frankly, I thought it would be more fun to have  chips. How wrong. Little one was absolutely shattered and proceeded to be a  pain in the neck the whole time. And I told him off so many times. He is pushing every boundary at the moment and while I know I have to stand firm it is so hard. Anyway, instead of giving them a great experience I just gave myself a headache and the boys have a memory of being told off instead of eating chips on the harbour. Great. But, at least I tried. And when we got home later when they were surprise fireworks on the breakwater  which Elder and I managed to watch together. A good memory. 

The point of this post? I’m not sure but I felt I needed to document my efforts. Life is a mixed bag isn’t it? Onwards and upwards!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

